11 state varsities shun ASUU Strike, FG threatens to end the union


The Academic Staff Union of Universities declared strike didn't affect no fewer than 11 state universities.

On Monday, The MEDIA reported that academic activities were ongoing in universities owned by Osun, Rivers, Delta, Borno, Anambra, Kwara, and Akwa Ibom states, as well as the three universities owned by Lagos State.

In addition, ahead of today's (Tuesday) meeting of the National Universities Commission with vice-chancellors and pro-chancellors of federal universities, the Federal Government pledged on Monday to put an end to the country's strike culture.

However, as ASUU's strike enters its 204th day, lecturers at some state universities are not on strike.

Meanwhile, the Federal Government has stated that it is considering a number of options to end the ongoing strikes in tertiary institutions throughout the country.

This was revealed in a document titled "Industrial relations - Tertiary education," prepared by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, and made available to the MEDIA in Abuja.

Precious is the Asst. Senior Editor for Prime 9ja Online= A Devoted Child of God= Patriotic Nigerian= Legit blogger= Five-star journalist= Exclusive Entertainer