Ondo government limits powers of Akure monarch, others

Ondo government limits powers of Akure monarch, others
The government of Ondo State has published a White Paper that limits the authority and spheres of influence of some traditional rulers.

The local governments of Akure North and Akure South are home to many of the recently recognised obas.

The ruler of Akure formerly asserted his authority to choose Olus and Baales.

The Deji of Akure stool was established prior to the publication of the White Paper as the supreme ruler of Akure and the consenting authority over subordinate chiefs, Olus, and baales in Akure North and Akure South local governments.

The administration stated in the White Paper that no ruler in the state had a claim to paramountcy.

It said there was nothing like paramountcy in the Chief’s Law of Ondo State and created 62 Obas, who were rated as Grade C monarchs.

Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Charles Titiloye, who spoke yesterday at a news conference in Akure, said the White Paper was on the Justice C.E.T. Ajama (rtd) Judicial Commission of Inquiry on Chieftaincy Matters, which was instituted in 2015 to attend to recognition, adjustment, upgrading and elevation of chieftaincy stools in the state.

He said the incumbent administration set up a six-man committee in January to review the recommendations made by Justice Ajama commission.

Justice Titiloye said the White Paper settled 51 dispute chieftaincy stools across the 18 local governments.

The Attorney General listed the new Grade C monarchs to include Olurokun of Irokun, Osolo of Isolo, Osowa of Ugboroko, Eleegun of Eegun, Asinigbo of Isinigbo, Oniresi of Osi, Olumafon of Imafon, Olu of Alayere, Olu of Eleyewo, Olu of Ilu-Abo, Olu of Abo-Asakin, Obalogun of Igoba, Ojogbariaka of Ilado, Elekun of Ilekun, Iralepo of Isinkan, Olujoka of Ijoka, Ado of Adofure, Olu of Ijigba, Ogidi of Ogidigba, among others.

He said the Obas would soon be presented with staff of office.

Titiloye said 42 monarchs, who were previously in Grade C, were moved to Grade B, except for Owa-Ale of Iyo-mefa, Ikare; Ajana of Afa Oke-Agbe; Olumoru of Imoru; Ojomo of Ijebu-Owo; Elemure of Emure-Ile and Moporure of Agerige, who were elevated to Grade A.

Out of 20 Grade B Obas, 16, including Orunja of Odigbo, Olupele of Ipele and Olujare of Ijare were elevated to Grade A; but Olupe of Ipe, Oloba of Oba-Akoko, Ojima of Okeluse and three others remained in Grade B.

Justice Titiloye said: “Government notes that paramountcy is not part of the Chief’s Law of Ondo State. Consequently, government has directed the office of the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice to set machinery in motion for the amendment of the Chief’s Law of Ondo State, to accommodate this recommendation.”

Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters Commissioner Akinwumi Sowore said the review of chieftaincy matters would bring peace, unity and progress to the communities.

He said the review of chieftaincy matters would be a continuous exercise.