Senate clears central bank non-executive director nominees

Senate clears central bank non-executive director nominees
President Muhammadu Buhari's candidates for non-executive directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria have been approved for confirmation, according to Uba Sani, chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions (CBN).

The congressman stated in a statement that "Prof. Mike Idiahi Obadan, Prof. Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko, Prof. Ummu Ahmed Jalingo, and Mr. Adeola Adetunji are the four reappointed Non-Executive Directors who were vetted."

The Senator said, “the nominees were asked a wide range of questions on the mandate of the CBN, the challenges it is facing, the current situation in the banking and financial sectors, how to build strong synergy between the monetary and fiscal authorities, and how to get Nigeria out of its present economic difficulties”.

The lawmaker, who is also the Kaduna State APC governorship flagbearer for 2023 noted, that “the screening session was robust and interactive” adding that “the nominees exhibited high levels of understanding of the Nigerian economy as well as the challenges, intricacies and opportunities of the Nigerian financial sector. No petition was received in respect of any of the nominees.”
Chima Ugo is a patriotic Nigerian, a journalist, blogger and singer who is so much interested in the internet, journalism, and blogging and have been for half a decade.